Pros and Cons to Living a Gypsy-like Lifestyle

IMG_7204

Do you love to travel? Have you always dreamed of roaming the earth and living in numerous destinations? Do you get bored easily?

Ah, the vagabond life! Well, I’m sorry but you’re crazy! But so am I, so It’s all good here.

I was born in Perth, Western Australia but ever since I could remember my parents have been gypsies. This is beautifully displayed by the fact that I’ve never lived in a house longer than 2 years, until now. We’ve been suburban kids, country bumpkins, wannabe bogans, missionaries in Japan, Sydney city slickers, trailer trash (not quite but we lived in an RV park), California kids and now we’re your typical Australian fam bam. My parents sure didn’t intend on this being our lifestyle (if you could call it one), it’s just who they are. They’ve always been beauty seekers and true adventurers. They’re never satisfied with doing things ordinarily or living life mediocre, and that’s completely why I blame them for my restless need for adventures, explorations and travel.

I can honestly say that not a day goes past that I don’t think about travel, numerous countries, cultures, airplanes, and adventures; It’s simply become part of my everyday thinking. You could easily say that this is because I’m currently working as a travel consultant, but furthermore the torture doesn’t stop when I leave the office – believe me! If you nodded yes to all of the above questions, then you’d know exactly what I mean. Having a constant desire to see all of the wonderful and mysterious places on the planet, is both a burden and a blessing.

So what are the Pros and Cons to living a Gypsy-like Lifestyle?

Con:

You’re constantly craving new experiences and more adventures. You never seem satisfied living in the same monotonous routine, and you’re constantly driven by the desire to reach your next destination. It’s a tedious desire that can sometimes drive you insane.

Pro:

A positive aspect of being a globetrotter is that you get a bucket load of great experiences. I wouldn’t have had the amount of experiences that I do now if it wasn’t for the gypsy like lifestyle that I lived throughout my childhood. How else would I know how to ride a horse, grow a vegetable garden, dance with a ballet company, barter in Thailand and Indonesia, run through Sydney domestic airport to catch an international flight, put up a tent, go for a USA visa interview, or move my entire belongings across the world and back again, numerous times. I’m so thankful that I’ve been given the opportunity to have all of these amazing experiences.

Con:

Moving around a lot sadly means that you often don’t get the chance to stay closely connected to friends and grow long lasting relationships. I think this is one of the many reasons that my parents have now chosen to stay in Perth – they want us to have a lasting community of friends. It’s been hard growing up and constantly having to form new friendships. This meant a lot of awkward “I’m the new kid on the block” scenarios but, because I’m quite a vivacious character, I always found a way of forcing myself into friend groups.

Pro:

Moving around a lot has also given me the opportunity to meet a lot of amazing and memorable people. I’ve had many different and diverse groups of friends. I’m very happy to say that I’m still close with a lot of people that I’ve met in numerous places – including my boyfriend, whom I met when I was living in Northern California. Thankfully, thanks to technology nowadays, I can still keep in touch with old friends through social media. Sometimes others might feel like living in the same monotonous routine with, what feels like, the same people can be boring. If you feel like you’re stuck in the same routine, with the same group of friends, then I suggest going out and traveling (either independently or with a close friend) because you’re bound to meet a few awesome and interesting people – it’s one of the many perks to traveling!

Con:

I’m always faced with the constant culture quandary – is it trash or rubbish? do I love Japanese food more than In-N-Out burgers? Left or Right side of the road? After a few years of living back in Australia, I can happily say that I’ve nearly completely sorted myself out (Aussie Aussie Aussie). That doesn’t mean that my boyfriend and I don’t disagree sometimes about if Mexican food is better than Thai. Burritos or Pad Thai? Such a difficult one, I know!

Pro:

Β Because I’ve moved around a lot, I’d like to think that I have a greater understanding of different cultures. Whenever I was globetrotting from the USA to Australia I was always faced with another ordeal of ‘culture shock’. Culture shock is a disorientated feeling you get when you move into an unfamiliar way of life – it basically means that you’re constantly comparing two different cultures. Although this is annoying at times, you can gain so much from comparing and analyzing two different cultures. You gain knowledge and understanding. Now, who said that travel isn’t educational?

I’m sure there’s plenty more Pros and Cons to being a globetrotter (like missing out on certain seasons – RIP to those many summers missed), but in life there are positives and negatives to almost everything. I’m happy with my past gypsy-like lifestyle; I wouldn’t be who I am without it.

No matter what sort of lifestyle you choose, make it a good one!

*Oh, and cheers to my Ma and Pa for allowing me to tag along on their many adventures*

Β Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

 

What are some of your great travel experiences? Do tell! Feel free to comment, follow or shoot me an email.

xx

Leave a Reply

